Indie Author Review: David Stewart (Dissonant Tides)

I came across David Stewart via his YouTube channel when searching for reviews of The Force Awakens (if you disliked the movie as much I did, I recommend you check it out). I found his analysis to be spot on and instantly subscribed.

What I soon noticed was that he has an ongoing writer’s vlog series, and from here learned that he offers free fiction on his website (DVSPRESS), so decided to check it out. So far I’ve only read the first act of his upcoming novel, Dissonant Tides, but I’ll say right now it’s a disappointment. No, not because it’s bad, but because I wanted to keep on reading! As such, I can only review what I’ve read, but if the rest of it is anything like the first part then this could very well be a bestseller (or, at least, best seller quality).

The story follows a runaway aristocrat, Charlotte, and her hired protector, Rone, as they arrive in the city of Masala, hotly perused by agents of a hostile government, set in a world of swords and muskets. You can read the novel description (and the first act) here. Currently, as of writing this article, there are only the first five chapters available, but they’ll quickly draw you in and make you wish the damn thing was available for purchase on Amazon (he does, however, have this one up, which I will review as well at some point). But alas! We must wait.

There are a few minor errors in the text (but hey, it’s free, and not yet the finished product), and some slight pacing issues (in my opinion anyway) with regards to a certain scene (hint: there’s a kiss), but since this is only the first act it’s difficult to say if it was really rushed or not. Just read it, you’ll know what I mean! Aside from that, however, it’s a pretty solid and entertaining read.

Currently I’m one of his other free stories, Deep Time (co-created with Matt Wellman), a science fiction set in a universe confined to the restrictions of Relativity. The premise certainly intrigued me, and I’ll be posting a review of that sometime in the future.

So there you have it – a neat upcoming novel that’s sure to please fantasy lovers everywhere – spread the word!

3 thoughts on “Indie Author Review: David Stewart (Dissonant Tides)

  1. Hey, thanks for the good word! I should have more of Dissonant Tides coming soon. I gotta finish putting out my current book. Right now I’m trying to run a cycle where I put things out on DVS Press, leave them up for free for awhile (and get feedback – thanks for that) to give people a free entry point, then put them out on Amazon etc. after awhile. Dissonant Tides is a tough rewrite because it was actually my first book, and I hadn’t developed the skills to pull off the Odyssey storyline.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I’ve been following your writer’s vlog so I’m aware of the page one rewrite, but so far it’s looking pretty good (even if not a final draft).

      I’m actually reading my way through Muramasa right now so I’ll be posting a review of that as well in a week or so (I’m enjoying it so far, great work).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

